In memory of a freind

Yesterday Diane Larocque passed away; she was in her mid-60’s and died because of Cancer.  Age was not a factor – she was ageless.  She was also family to everyone she came in touch with.

The joy in her passing is that she lived years longer than anyone thought she would, I believed she would be the only one who would decide when she was ready to go.  That she died the day before Mothers Day is a huge loss for all her friends, family and her world wide circle of people she helped.  Most of us did not have today to call her and wish her a Happy Mother’s Day and say how much she meant to us.

In the 8 years I knew Diane, she accomplished more in those years than most will every do in a life time.  Through a chance meeting with a farmer from Dougarakoro in Mali, who was in Canada to learn new farm techniques, she has managed to raise tens of thousands of dollars to build homes for teachers, new village huts, new farming tools, a wagon and provide the children of the village with toys, sports equipment and schooling.  To the village she was “Mama Diane”.

For us, including me, she touched our souls like no other person – she helped us to see our souls and to know where we came from and what each of our core values were.  It was Diane that reached her hands into my heart and she came out with my soul and said “Here, this is what you are.  This is who you were meant to be.  Go out and be that person”.  I have lived a better life because of her honesty – allowing me to see through the clouds that others put before me.  Without Diane Larocque I would not be doing what I am doing now, or be with the people I am with and most importantly I would not be connected to my soul, my core and my values – the ingredients for life that I was given when I was born over 52 years ago.

While she taught me and countless others to connect to the truth and the world around us – see it and be a part of it.  While she is gone, she will always be connected to me and I will always cherish the life she gave back to me only a few years ago.

Diane leaves behind a son, his wife and Maxime, the sunshine of her life and from the day that she first saw him.  Maxime her Grandson held and will forever hold a huge part of her heart.

To those closest to her especially Gerry, Marie-Pierre, Denise, Paul , Alan, Kathleen, Marian and Jean, I cannot imagine what you feel today as she was such a large part of your everyday life.

I, along with your family in Canada and Africa, will miss you Diane.

I can be found Twitter @robertdekker, on Facebook at http://tiny.cc/n5l97 and at www.robertdekker.ca.  Please follow me and send me your thoughts on this and other posts to rob@robertdekker.ca.

One thought on “In memory of a freind

Leave a Reply

