Joy of Music

Vinyl recordsWorking from home tends to create habits in what you do for either background noise or for a distraction. I have been doing the working from home shtick since May 2012 – that’s a lot of distractions to be avoided in order to compensate for not having the usual cubical lifestyle.

I’ve been able to use this time for creating a schedule for breaking up my day from the usual coffee and meal breaks. I’ve been able to take advantage of my work scenario to have some irregular ‘breaks’ in the day. They range from “playing guitar break” to “shoot some billiards time” (because our condo has a billiards room) and during the summer there is nothing like a 12th floor outdoor office to work on projects and my tan.

What working from home has done the most for me has allowed me to get back to doing what I love to do, listen to music and discover even more new music.

Each week there is more to hear, both old and new!   This week alone I have put the following in my “News and Noteworthy” playlist:

Imagine Dragons: Night Visions

Imagine Dragons: Smoke + Mirrors

Steve Earle and the Dukes: Terraplane

Bob Dylan: Shadows in the Night

Tom Petty and the Heartbreakers: Mojo

Patti Smith: Banga

Gordon Lightfoot: Harmony

Lynn Miles: Fall for Beauty

Simon and Garfunkel: The Concert in Central Park

Sam Smith: In the Lonely Hour

Pink Floyd: The Endless River

Not only do I get to hear some amazing music, but I do get so much more done with the music playing. I have to say lately it’s been a great experience. But an unexpected reward has been finding more new music on #Twitter, being followed by musicians and bands from across North America. There is so much great music out there that it is going to make working from home even more enjoyable!

At one time it was a joy to sit and file new vinyl in my library, LP’s and’s 45’s. Most of the LP’s are gone with only 250 left. I have managed to keep all the 45’s I bought and collected from 1971 to 1990. As weird as it is, I now get to arrange playlists, mp3 files and sit and file new CDs in my library. It’s my Joy of Music.

I invite you to share your ideas by commenting to this post or any post on my blog. You can also email me directly at robdekkeroc@gmail.com.

I can be found Twitter @robertdekker, on Facebook at http://tiny.cc/n5l97.

One thought on “Joy of Music

Leave a Reply

