Between a blog and a hard place

b vlog

I have been intrigued by the old and the new lately, the old and new of creativity and its formulation, the output, the content and …the final product. Let me explain where all started from.

About a month ago I was given a book written by Patti Smith “Just Kids”, her story of finding her creativity when she was with photographer Robert Mapplethorpe  – only Mapplethorpe was not a photographer when they met, he was a 1960’s struggling multi media artist, perhaps even an original in the art form. Their story, told by Smith, is about how they found their way and their art form that would bring them both to prominence. The setting being New York City in the 60’s means icons like Janis, Jimi and Jim were still around and exuding their influence on the young and artful. More about this later, and likely another post altogether as I am currently reading Patti Smith’s second book “M Train” (I jumped to that book right after finishing “Just Kids”).

The other side of the equation belongs to new creativity. I recently discovered Casey Neistat, the way many may have this year, when a video he made of himself snowboarding in New York City after they had that massive snowfall in January. You can watch it here, https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=qRv7G7WpOoU I am sure he won’t mind me posting it as I am not making any money from this blog…and I know you will thoroughly enjoy it. From that one viewing, I have been watching his vlog (video blog) daily!

He is not the only one I have been watching, there are about 3-4 others I now follow and watch when they post.  I have started to subscribe to these in YouTube so it is easy to know when they have something new to watch. The vlogs I watch are international and local in content. I watch them for not only their content but for what they do, the technique used and style.

The idea of vlogging is intriguing me to no end it is tugging at my creative strings; in fact a post by ijustine was instrumental in getting my thinking cap on and on real tight. Here, look at this https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=auWgYr4PYhc …… and not only hear what she is saying, but marvel at the technology of the 360 camera she used – amazing. You will have to watch on a smartphone to visualize the 360 effect but if you don’t have a smartphone, view it on Google chrome (Safari does not support the technology).

I tip my hat to a local fellow, a friend of mine who goes by @VideomanOttawa,  VideomanOttawa recording QE2  ,who has never been afraid to point a camera in any direction and shot. He can be controversial and maybe not the most politically correct person I know – but he is honest and has no fear. I have subscribed to @brynnsadventures, Brynns Adventures’ Homepage , another vlog based out of Ottawa, the content is clearly directed at a younger and predominately female audience – but her style is fun to watch.

The difficult part is finding more great content in the vlogging world. As in blogging, there is good content and bad content. I could search by numbers; the vloggers with the most subscribers on YouTube MUST be good, right. I hope to go on word of mouth, hoping that you, the good reader, will pass along some suggestions.

All the vloggers I mentioned can be searched by inserting their name in YouTube search box, or using the link that will be in there Twitter ID I provided.

Between these few (and other vlogs) and my imagination I now think…what if…what if I combine the old with the new? What would come out of this scenario? Something good? Something not-so-good?

I invite you to share your ideas by commenting to this post or any post on my blog. Please feel free to suggest topics for posting.  You can also email me directly at rdmedia@bell.net.

I can be found Twitter @robertdekker, @rdmediaottawa and on Facebook at http://tiny.cc/n5l97.

Leave a Reply

