If you could give a TED Talk (what would it be about)

ted

Have you ever watched one or many TED Talks on YouTube? Have you been to a live TED Talk?

Have you thought to yourself, how do I get into one of those to even give a TED Talk?

 

Really? What would you give a TED Talk on? Is there a topic you know you could fill for ten to twelve minutes and keep everyone’s attention during that time?

I have not been watching TED Talks for long, I only subscribed a few months ago. I have a few favourites. But it did get me thinking, if I was asked to give a Ted Talk, what could I fill 12 minutes on?

While I consider that question here are a few  I have recently enjoyed watching:

“Meet the inventor of the online spreadsheet.” Nerds will love this Ted Talk, even non-nerds will find this interesting, and it just proves that anyone who is inquisitive can make a change that impacts the world. Who knew a Texas Instrument calculator could be so inspiring. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=YDvbDiJZpy0

“How to get better at the things you care about.” https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=YKACzIrog24

“How to have better political conversations.” https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=6V6p1tgHfm0

“How online abuse of woman has spiraled out of control.” It was difficult listening to Ashley Judd recite some of the most hateful comments a person could throw at her, it confounds me that people can be so mean. How do some have the energy to hate so much? I don’t think standing there saying what people think of me (in that way) is something I can do. My TED talk would have to be of a lighter topic.https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=GSf6nij-SdA

“What I learned from 100 day of rejection.” This is a favourite, it has humour and a message, and it is so good that Jia Jiang has given this talk or versions of it many times in many different Ted Talks venues. https://www.youtube.com/results?search_query=ted+talks+100+days+of+rejection

In fact, googling Ted Talks with the author of the talk reveals that if it’s a good one, you can go places – many places where ever a TED Talk talks place. In Ottawa there have been TEDx talks…for those like me who try to discern the different between a TED and TEDx talk – TEDx are independent TED Talks

tedx-2

Consider this, you are asked to give a TED Talk, what is your strength? What is your passion? What are your loves? How do you use those strengths, passions and loves in your life? Do they help you? Do they help you help others or do your strengths just help you get through the day (there is nothing wrong with that)?

When I think of the above I would probably talk about public service. Not your public service that many would call getting elected. I think about the type public service that others would not expect. For me it is coaching a baseball team, volunteering to lead a scout of girl guides camp service on a Community Association and flipping pancakes at a church breakfast. I have done all those things, these were the things that I believe led me to my public service and ultimately lead to my decisions to run for elected office three times. I was never elected, but that does not define me. What defines me is my early public service starting with leading a Youth Group in Church or coaching a baseball team at 16 and even giving a sermon in church (yes I have done this).

These things remind me that at one time I took chances, chances that paid off. 40 years (yikes!) later from coaching baseball I draw back to doing these without doubting myself or being afraid of what other people will think.

I guess I could fill twelve minutes with that.

What about you? If you were asked to give a TED Talk what would it be about?

Thank you for reading this post; to catch all my posts and be notified as new ones come up please follow me on WordPress. You can also see me on www.redheartbluelife.wordpress.com for what I see, hear and read.

I can be found Twitter @robertdekker, @rdmediaottawa and on Facebook at http://tiny.cc/n5l97. I can be reached at rdmedia@bell.net.

 

One thought on “If you could give a TED Talk (what would it be about)

Leave a Reply

