…on Mother’s Day

 

For a person that spent a great of his life in communications talking to others, I suck at communicating to members of my own family. Don’t read anything into this – there was no huge family squabble, no family fight at Thanksgiving or disgruntled Christmas dinner. When we get together everything is fine in fact the year I spent in Toronto meant that I was able to see my Mom and Dad. My brothers and sister talk to my parents more often than I do. I could use the distance between Ottawa and Toronto, but won’t.

It’s just me.

IMG_20170513_0105125You see though I have no reason, a lot of what I do and who I am is because of my mother. I learned to cook because my mom went to work when I was sixteen years old. It was nothing fancy, but it was the basics of cooking potatoes, vegetables and meatballs. Sometimes the meat was switched, but it was always a good Dutch meat and potatoes delicacy. Besides the cooking I also have to thank my mother for my unmatchable skills at loading a dishwasher, no one can load as much in to a dishwasher as I can with every dish getting spotless. I also learned how to iron a shirt by watching my mother iron my father’s shirts for work. I can proudly say that I can iron a shirt in less than nine minutes. The thing that changed my life the most after learning to iron is buying non-iron shirts – those 9 minutes each morning are precious.

I also learned from my mother and my father, because as a team they are unstoppable, is that devotion to your spouse tops everything; they have 60+ years of experience together to show for it. As my father gets set to turn 90 this year, I know it is rare to have both parents alive an in their 9th decade of their lives. I can see why it works; it is the love for each other, having a purpose to get out everyday and their church family.

On Mothers Day, as a son I have to perform well. I even ‘expressposted’ a card to make sure it reached my mother (it did – I checked the tracking number) and of course yes I will call on Mothers Day. While I don’t call as much as I should, there is not a day I do not think of them, pray for their continued good health and am so thankful that they a happy life together. Calling? I just need to do it more often after Mothers Day.

Happy Mothers Day

 

*The ceramic pot is from my mother’s mother, my Oma, and now sits in my kitchen as it did in my mom’s kitchen.

One thought on “…on Mother’s Day

  1. Joanne Kane

    So sweet! One regret I have with my parents gone, is I wish I had contacted them more too! Miss them constantly as well. Yours must be very proud of you. Happy Mother’s Day. Enjoy.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

